Applying for a Minnesota Marriage License
The below information is general and may not be up to date... please contact your County for the latest up to date information. More info here - MN County Web Sites
Wedding License in MN
What do you need to know and have in order to apply for a Minnesota marriage license?
• Be Aware that requirements vary as each county in Minnesota may have their own requirements.
• You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota.
• You must provide proper identification along with Social Security numbers.
• If you were married before, you must show proof of divorce, death, or annulment from your most recent marriage.
• Minnesota has a waiting period of 5 working days, unless it is waived by a district judge due to "extraordinary" conditions.
• Cost is around $110 for those who don't provide written proof of premarital education. $40 for those who do take an authorized premarital education course that has a minimum of 12 hours. Call before you leave to get your marriage license application to make sure that the fee hasn't changed. Be prepared to pay in cash.
• Minnesota does not require blood tests.
• If only one applicant can apply for the marriage license, all the required information for the absent partner must be provided. Call the Clerk of Court to see how to get your partner's signature notarized. Requirements may vary from county to county.
• No Common Law Marriages are allowed.
• Same Sex Marriages are not currently legal.
• Brides and grooms who are 16 and 17 years old need parental consent or court approval.
• Who can marry us? Judges, clerks of court, court commissioners, and licensed ministers, priests or rabbis, as well as representatives of Bahai, Hindu, Quaker and American Indian religious groups are authorized to perform weddings in Minnesota.
• At least two witnesses need to be at your wedding ceremony. The witnesses must be 16 years of age or older.
• License is valid for 6 months.
• Copies of certificates of marriage are available from the county that issued the marriage license. More Info
Minnesota Department of Health
Attention: Office of the State Registrar
717 Delaware St SE
P.O. Box 9441
Minneapolis, MN 55440-9441
Phone: (612) 676-5120
Fax: (612) 331-5776
State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. The above information is general and may not be up to date... please contact your County for the latest up to date information. More info here - MN County Web Sites